07Appendix 2: Political Geographies

Figure 18: Coverage of 37 political geographies

Political Geography

Table 2: Coverage of 37 political geographies

Political geography name Local authorities
1 Aberdeen City Region Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
2 Cardiff City Region Cardiff, Newport, Vale of Glamorgan, Bridgend, Rhondda Cynon Taff, Merthyr Tydfil, Caerphilly, Blaenau Gwent, Torfaen, Monmouthshire
3 Cheshire and Warrington LEP Cheshire West and Chester, Warrington, Cheshire East
4 Coast to Capital LEP Brighton and Hove, Chichester, Mid Sussex, Horsham, Adur, Arun, Crawley, Worthing, Reigate and Banstead, Tandridge, Mole Valley, Lewes, Epsom and Ewell
5 Derby and Derbyshire PCA Derby, South Derbyshire, Erewash, Amber Valley, North East Derbyshire, Chesterfield, Bolsover, High Peak, Derbyshire Dales
6 Dorset LEP Bournemouth, Poole, West Dorset, North Dorset, East Dorset, Christchurch, Purbeck, Weymouth and Portland
7 Dundee City Region Angus, Dundee City, Perth and Kinross
8 Edinburgh City Region East Lothian, Edinburgh, Fife, Midlothian, Scottish Borders, West Lothian
9 Enterprise M3 LEP Surrey Heath, Woking, Guildford, Waverley, Runnymede, Spelthorne, Elmbridge
10 Glasgow and Clyde Valley City Region East Dunbartonshire, East Renfrewshire, Glasgow City, Inverclyde, North Lanarkshire, Renfrewshire, South Lanarkshire, West Dunbartonshire
11 Gloucestershire LEP Cheltenham, Cotswold, Forest of Dean, Gloucester, Stroud, Tewkesbury
12 Greater Cambridge and Greater Peterborough LEP Cambridge, Peterborough, Huntingdonshire, Fenland, East Cambridgeshire, Rutland, South Cambridgeshire, North Hertfordshire, Uttlesford
13 Greater London GLA Barking and Dagenham, Barnet, Bexley, Brent, Bromley, Camden, City of London, Croydon, Ealing, Enfield, Greenwich, Hackney, Hammersmith and Fulham, Haringey, Harrow, Havering, Hillingdon, Hounslow, Islington, Kensington and Chelsea, Kingston upon Thames, Lambeth, Lewisham, Merton, Newham, Redbridge, Richmond upon Thames, Southwark, Sutton, Tower Hamlets, Waltham Forest, Wandsworth, Westminster
14 Greater Manchester CA Bolton, Bury, Manchester, Oldham, Rochdale, Salford, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford, Wigan
15 Hampshire PCA Eastleigh, Fareham, Gosport, Havant, Isle of Wight, New Forest, Portsmouth, Southampton, Test Valley, Basingstoke and Deane, Hart, Rushmoor, Winchester, East Hampshire
16 Heart of the South West LEP Torridge, West Devon, South Hams, Teignbridge, Exeter, East Devon, Mid Devon, North Devon, Plymouth, West Somerset, Taunton Deane, Sedgemoor, Mendip, South Somerset, Torbay
17 Humber PCA East Riding of Yorkshire, Kingston upon Hull, North Lincolnshire, North East Lincolnshire
18 Lancashire LEP Blackpool, Burnley, Chorley, Fylde, Hyndburn, Lancaster, Pendle, Preston, Ribble Valley, Rossendale, South Ribble, West Lancashire LEP, Wyre, Blackburn with Darwen
19 Leicester and Leicester and Leicestershire PCA Blaby, Charnwood, Harborough, Hinckley and Bosworth, Leicester, Melton, North West Leicestershire, Oadby and Wigston
20 Liverpool City Region CA Halton, Knowsley, Liverpool, Sefton, St. Helens, Wirral
21 New Anglia LEP Babergh, Broadland, Great Yarmouth, King’s Lynn and West Norfolk, North Norfolk, St Edmundsbury, Suffolk Coastal, Waveney, Breckland, Forest Heath, Ipswich, Mid Suffolk, South Norfolk, Norwich
22 North East CA Durham, Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne, North Tyneside, Northumberland, South Tyneside, Sunderland
23 Nottingham and Nottinghamshire PCA Nottingham, Bassetlaw, Newark and Sherwood, Mansfield, Gedling, Broxtowe, Ashfield, Rushcliffe
24 Oxfordshire LEP Oxford, Cherwell, West Oxfordshire, Vale of White Horse, South Oxfordshire
25 Sheffield City Region CA Rotherham, Sheffield, Barnsley, Doncaster
26 South East LEP Basildon, Braintree, Brentwood, Castle Point, Chelmsford, Colchester, Epping Forest, Harlow, Maldon, Rochford, southend on sea, Tendring, Thurrock, Ashford, Canterbury, Dartford, Dover, Gravesham, Maidstone, Medway, Sevenoaks, Shepway, Swale, Thanet, Tonbridge and Malling, Tunbridge Wells, Hastings, Rother, Wealden, Eastbourne
27 South East Midlands LEP Bedford, Central Bedfordshire, Luton, Milton Keynes, Aylesbury Vale, Northampton, Kettering, Corby, South Northamptonshire, Daventry
28 Stoke on Trent and Staffordshire LEP Staffordshire Moorlands, Stoke on Trent, Stafford, South Staffordshire, Cannock Chase, Newcastle under Lyme, East Staffordshire, Lichfield, Tamworth
29 Swansea Bay City Region Pembrokeshire, Carmarthenshire, Swansea, Neath Port Talbot
30 Swindon and Wiltshire LEP Swindon, Wiltshire
31 Tees Valley PCA Darlington, Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland, Stockton on Tees
32 Thames Valley Berkshire LEP Bracknell Forest, Reading, Windsor and Maidenhead, Slough, Wokingham, West Berkshire
33 The Marches LEP Telford and Wrekin, Shropshire, Herefordshire
34 West Midlands PCA Birmingham, Solihull, Coventry, Wolverhampton, Walsall, Sandwell, Dudley
35 West of England LEP South Gloucestershire, Bristol, Bath and North East Somerset, North Somerset
36 West Yorkshire CA Bradford, Calderdale, Kirklees, Leeds, Wakefield
37 Yorth and North Yorkshire LEP York, Craven, Hambleton, Harrogate, Richmondshire, Ryedale, Scarborough, Selby

Table 3: Designating of local authorities in instances where they are a member of more than one political geography

Local authority Political geography allocated to
Lewes Coast to Capital LEP
Uttlesford Greater Cambridge & Peterborough
Croydon Greater London GLA
Winchester Hampshire PCA
East Hampshire Hampshire PCA
Test Valley Hampshire PCA
New Forest Hampshire PCA
Basingstoke and Deane Hampshire PCA
Hart Hampshire PCA
East Riding of Yorkshire Humber PCA
King’s Lynn and West Norfolk New Anglia LEP
Forest Heath New Anglia LEP
St Edmundsbury New Anglia LEP
Cherwell Oxfordshire LEP
Cannock Chase Stoke on Trent and Staffordshire LEP
Tamworth Stoke on Trent and Staffordshire LEP
Litchfield Stoke on Trent and Staffordshire LEP
East Staffordshire Stoke on Trent and Staffordshire LEP