04Who is getting a metro mayor?

There are seven combined authorities that are actively progressing devolution deals and will be electing metro mayors. The combined authorities are made up of constituent and non-constituent authorities. Constituent authorities have full voting rights and cannot be a member of another combined authority, non-constituent authorities can be non-constituent members of another local authority, but it is the decision of the combined authority whether or not non-constituent members have a full vote.

The following city regions are advancing their deals and will be electing a mayor in May 2017:

  • Greater Manchester:
    • Constituent: Bolton, Bury, Manchester, Oldham, Rochdale, Salford, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford and Wigan
  • Liverpool City Region:
    • Constituent: Liverpool, St Helens, Sefton, Knowsley, Wirral and Halton
    • Non constituent: Warrington, East Lancashire
  • North East:
    • Constituent: Northumberland, Durham, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Sunderland, North Tyneside and South Tyneside
  • Sheffield City Region:
    • Constituent: Sheffield, Doncaster, Rotherham, Barnsley, Bassetlaw as well as Chesterfield, Derbyshire Dales, North-East Derbyshire and Bolsover
    • Non-constituent: Bolsover, North East Derbyshire, Derbyshire Dales
  • Tees Valley:
    • Constituent: Darlington, Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland and Stockton-On-Tees.
  • West Midlands:
    • Constituent: Birmingham, Wolverhampton, Coventry, Dudley, Sandwell, Solihull and Walsall
    • Non-constituent: Cannock Chase, Nuneaton and Bedworth, Redditch, Tamworth, Telford and Wrekin


Devolution deals have also been proposed for East Anglia, Greater Lincolnshire, the Solent City Region and West of England but negotiations are still ongoing with more news expected in the coming months.