Combined Authority factsheet

West Yorkshire

In May 2021 West Yorkshire will elect its first metro mayor. They will have control over the whole West Yorkshire combined authority area and work with existing city leaders to take forward their strategic plan. You can find out more about the metro mayors on our FAQ.

The economic and political outlook for West Yorkshire’s new metro mayor

West Yorkshire consists of the following local authorities: Bradford, Calderdale, Kirklees, Leeds and Wakefield.

This page brings together the key facts and figures about the city-region’s economy. It shows what local residents see as the top priorities for the new metro mayor. It also shows what previous elections tell us about voting patterns in the area.

What powers does the West Yorkshire metro mayor have?

Below is a summary of the powers the new West Yorkshire metro mayor will have. Read the full Devolution Deal here.

Find out more about metro mayors

Get up to date on the policies and powers affecting the metro mayors by reading our metro mayors FAQ.

More about West Yorkshire